E3 Day Two and Three

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Games
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Wow! That is all I can say about the insane amount of information to pour over regarding E3. So many new games are coming out that it is crazy to try and keep track of them all. In the last post I covered most of the ones I will be getting, and now is the lineup of the final few that have grabbed my attention.

Monolith and WB Games have put an interesting spin on the MOBA genre. For those that know the game League of Legends, picture that game play then add in the Lord of the Rings characters. I have enjoyed the MOBA style game play, but the mode that really is going to interest me on this one is the 1 lane map that will be coming with it. I have always wanted to play in a match where you have all 5 champions in one lane beating on each other in awesome full on brawls. Who wouldn’t want the chance to play a game as Gandalf and smack Sauron or Gollum around.

Game trailer

For those Mortal Combat fans WB Games and NetherRealm Studios have created Injustice: Gods Among Us. The game has the Mortal Combat style of fighting, but using DC super heroes and villains. The most interesting thing that sets this game apart from others of its genre is the ability to interact with the environment during the fighting. Who wouldn’t want to kick their nemesis through a building and watch him bounce off things on his journey? I will definitely be enjoying this game on those days when I just feel like smashing things.

G4TV Interview and game play

For Transformers fans like myself we will soon get to whet our robot appetites on Transformers: Fall of Cybertron, a new game from High Moon Studios. As a fan of the original cartoon, this is one game I am really looking forward to getting my hands on. The game play style is similar to the first game Transformers: War for Cybertron. This time we get the added awesomeness of being able to play as Grimlock, the Dynobot. There is so much good information on this game, but I will let the videos speak for themselves. I also personally can not wait to customize my own Autobot when this hits the shelves.

Trailer with the Dynobots

Game play plus game and customization information

Another game that has me giddy as hell is Mechwarrior Online. I have been a fan for years, back when Mechwarrior was called Battletech and we were playing it on paper maps on the kitchen table. Mechwarrior fanatics have been waiting on a new game for 10 years, and this one looks to make up for that time. I do appreciate that they put the games timeline before the Clan invasion. While I do like the clan mechs and storyline, I am looking forward to a huge wave of nostalgia when I get in my first “old school” mech. Unfortunately for me my favorite mechs were the ones that the board game creators took from the Robotech line, so I am sure I will not be seeing any of those in this game. Congrats also to Piranha Games on getting Best of E3.

Game play and Interview

Well that is all from us on E3. Yes we didn’t cover everything, but these were the things we were most excited about that came out this year. Now the fun part of setting money aside and figuring out which ones we want more then others.

Leave a Reply

